What is the Vestry?

The Vestry is a group of elected congregational leaders within the congregation of an Episcopal church. Its basic responsibility is to:

  • Help define and articulate the mission of the congregation;

  • Support the mission by word and deed;

  • Elect a rector when the need arises;

  • Ensure effective organization and planning;

  • Ensure adequate resources in leadership and in financial stewardship;

  • Manage resources effectively;

  • Determine that appropriate programs, policies, and procedures have been developed and are followed;

  • Assess its own performance.

It has some similarities to a board of directors, but it is important to remember that this ministry of leadership is exercised within a church. The success of a congregation is not measured in terms of numbers of members or size of the endowment, but rather in the degree to which it is working toward fulfillment of the mission of the Church.


Who is on our Vestry?


The Vestry consists of 8 members who serve three-year terms. Once on Vestry, members choose to serve on different aspects  of church ministries that best meet their strengths and interests. In addition to these 8 Vestry positions, there are 5 executive positions occupied by the Rector, Sr. Warden, Jr. Warden, Treasurer and at large member of the Parish.


Current Vestry 2019


The Rev. Terry Street, Rector


Dwight Wagner, Sr. Warden (2022)


Gary Mullins, Jr. Warden (2023)


Judyth Wilson, Secretary (2023)


Geoff Albert (2022)


Lisa Graham (2024)


Donna Turner (2022)


Duane Carter (2023)


Deaderick Van Dyke (2023)


Jessica Heckle (Treasurer)